TCU: Chancellor Victor J. Boschini, Jr.

Chancellor's Award for Distinguished Achievement as a Creative Teacher and Scholar


To recognize sustained exceptional teaching and high quality scholarship among the University's faculty, two awards were given every other year – in one year, Distinguished Teaching, and in the next year, Research & Creative Activity – until 2005 when the awards merged and became The Chancellor's Award for Distinguished Achievement as a Creative Teacher and Scholar. The Academic Deans consider nominations from schools and colleges and provide three recommendations to the Chancellor. The award recipient is named at Fall Convocation and a photo gallery of recipients is on display at The Mary Couts Burnett Library.



Previous winners


William Cron

William Cron

Neeley School of Business

Professor of Marketing

Cecilia Silva

Cecilia Silva

College of Education

Professor of Education

Ralph Carter

Ralph G. Carter III


Professor of Political Science

Harry Parker

Harry Parker
Fine Arts
Department Chair of Theatre

David R. Cross

David R. Cross
Science and Engineering
Assoc. Professor of Psychology

Molly Weinburgh

Molly Weinburgh
Director of Andrews Institute of Math

William C. Moncrief III

William C. Moncrief III
M.J. Neeley School of Business
Professor/Chair of Marketing

Jeffery L. Coffer

Jeffery L. Coffer
Science and Engineering
Professor of Chemistry

Richard L. Enos


Richard L. Enos

Professor of English


2007 – Stacey Floyd-Thomas
Associate Professor of Ethics and Black Church Studies
2006 – Stanley B. Block
Dr. Stan Block Endowed Chair in Finance
Philip S. Hartman
Professor of Biology
2005 – Cathy Collins Block
Professor of Education, Graduate Faculty



Distinguished Teaching

2004 – Ray W. Drenner
Professor/ Chair of Department of Biology
2002 – Donald W. Jackson
Herman Brown Professor of Political Science
2000 – Rhonda L. Hatcher
Associate Professor of Mathematics
1998 – Ronald B. Flowers
Professor of Religion
1996 – Anantha S. Babbili
Professor of Journalism
1994 – Toni Craven
Professor of Hebrew Bible
1992 – Bob J. Frye
Professor of English
1990 – Mark E. Thistlethwaite
Associate Professor of Art History
1988 – Robert S. Doran
Professor of Mathematics
1986 – William R. Baird
Professor of New Testament
1984 – Emmet G. Smith
Herndon Professor of Music
1982 – Betsy F. Colquitt
Professor of English

Distinguished Research or Creative Activity

2003 – Germán A. Gutiérrez
Associate Professor/ Director of Orchestral Studies
2001 – Ralph R. Behnke
Professor of Speech Communication
1999 – Linda K. Hughes
Professor of English
1997 – Charles W. Lamb
Professor of Marketing
1995 – Robert H. Neilson;
Professor of Chemistry
1993 – John Owings
Professor of Piano
1991 – David W. Cravens
Professor of Marketing and Holder of Eunice
and James L. West Chair of American Enterprise
1989 – William B. Smith
Professor of Chemistry
1987 – Donald F. Dansereau
Professor of Psychology
1985 – R. David Edmunds
Professor of History
1983 – William H. Watson Jr.
Professor of Chemistry